Back to overview

Semi-Final Round of Judging 2017

Pre-selection for the ‘International Emmy®’ in Berlin

On the 12th of July 2017 Berlin hosted the Semi-Final Round of Judging to finalize nominations for the International Emmy® Award, the most important prize in the international television industry. 


Each year these prestigious prizes are awarded by the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in a total of 20 categories. In the first part of the award procedure nominations are put forward by representatives of the TV industry throughout the world. The subsequent semi-final round of judging is divided between various countries, and in each case the jury consists of between 10 and 50 members who will finalize the nominations in the individual categories.
This year’s Semi-Final Round of Judging was held in the following five categories:
– Drama Series (English)
– TV Movie / Mini-Series (Asia/Africa/Middle East)
– Best Performance by an Actor (English)
– Kids: Series (Asia/Africa/Middle East & Latin America)
– Current Affairs (English)
This semi-final session in Berlin has been organized by Academy members Regina Ziegler (Ziegler Film), Tanja Ziegler (Ziegler Film), Klaus Graf (Graf Film) and Michael Smeaton (FFP New Media). The jury of celebrities and experts from the field of television features Jana Cathrin Brandt (MDR), Manfred Hattendorf (SWR), Cooky Ziesche (RBB), Dr. Simone Emmelius (ZDFneo), Constantin Schreiber, Christian Sievers, Maria Furtwängler, Heike Makatsch, Christiane Paul, Lisa Wagner, Jürgen Maurer, Henriette Confurius, Hermine Huntgeburth (Director), Christiane Balthasar (Director), Urs Egger (Director) and others, who came together for the all-day closed meeting in order to view and evaluate the productions which have been put forward and produce a final list of nominations.
Already on the evening before the semi-finals 2017 jurors and organizers came together for a welcome dinner at the China Club in Berlin.
Among the prominent guests at the celebratory Cocktail Prolongé in the BMW House at the Kurfürstendamm counted Klaus WowereitMartina Gedeck, Markus Imboden (Director)Sebastian Koch, Anna Loos, Ursula Karven, Judy Winter, Katharina Wackernagel, Johann von Bülow, Andrea Sawatzki, Christian Berkel, Nina Kunzendorf, Ludger Pistor, Günter Lamprecht, Reinhold Elschot (ZDF), Günter Rohrbach and many others.
The Semi-Final Round of Judging was 2017 sponsored by the Mayor of Berlin, Michael Müller, and the event was supported by the Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, BMW, ZDF, GLOW Media Group, Telepool, RBB, Romance TV, Günter Rohrbach Filmpreis, Brehm & v. Moers, Kiso Siefert Dropmann, Cine Impuls and Lichthaus.

Photos of the judges

Photos of the cocktail prolongé

Bilder von © Michael Tinnefeld