Back to overview

Semi-Final Round of Judging 2016

Pre-selection for the ‘International Emmy®’ in Berlin

On the 4th of July 2016 Berlin hosted the Semi-Final Round of Judging to finalize nominations for the International Emmy® Award, the most important prize in the international television industry. 
Each year these prestigious prizes are awarded by the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in a total of 20 categories. In the first part of the award procedure nominations are put forward by representatives of the TV industry throughout the world. The subsequent semi-final round of judging is divided between various countries, and in each case the jury consists of between 10 and 50 members who will finalize the nominations in the individual categories.
This year’s Semi-Final Round of Judging was held in the following five categories:
– TV Movie / Mini-Series (English)
– Drama Series (Asia/Africa/Middle East)
– Best Performance by an Actress (English)
– Kids: TV Movie / Mini-Series
– Documentary (Latin America)
This semi-final session in Berlin has been organized by Academy members Regina Ziegler (Ziegler Film), Tanja Ziegler (Ziegler Film), Klaus Graf (Graf Film) and Michael Smeaton (FFP New Media). The jury of celebrities and experts from the field of television features Jana Cathrin Brandt (MDR), Diana Amft, Brigitta Mühlenbeck (WDR), Pasquale Aleardi, Annette Hess (Autorin), Marcus Ammon (Sky), Vivian Naefe (Regisseurin), Ralph Caspers, Dr. Claudia Nothelle (RBB), Valerie Niehaus, Christian Jeltsch (Autor), Harald Krassnitzer und Yvonne Weber (Sat.1) and others, who came together for the all-day closed meeting in order to view and evaluate the productions which have been put forward and produce a final list of nominations.
Already on the evening before the semi-finals 2016 jurors and organizers came together for a welcome dinner at the ‘Weinrot’ restaurant in the Savoy Hotel in Berlin.
Among the prominent guests at the celebratory Cocktail Prolongé in the BMW House at the Kurfürstendamm counted Gitta Schweighöfer, Harald Krassnitzer, Nadeshda Brennicke, Reinhold Elschot (ZDF), Tessa Mittelstaedt, Christine Neubauer, Oliver Mommsen, Gesine Cukrowski, Andre Rival and many others.
The Semi-Final Round of Judging was 2016 sponsored by the Mayor of Berlin, Michael Müller, and the event was supported by the Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, BMW, ZDF, GASAG, Telepool, Romance TV, WHITE Communications and Cine Impus/ Cine Chromatix. 

Photos of the judges

Photos of the cocktail prolongé

Photos by © Michael Tinnefeld