Back to overview

Semi-Final Round of Judging 2015

Pre-selection for the ‘International Emmy®’ in Berlin

On 25 June 2015 Berlin hosted the Semi-Final Round of Judging to finalize nominations for the International Emmy® Award, the most important prize in the international television industry. 
Each year these prestigious prizes are awarded by the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in a total of 20 categories. In the first part of the award procedure nominations are put forward by representatives of the TV industry throughout the world. The subsequent semi-final round of judging is divided between various countries, and in each case the jury consists of between 10 and 50 members who will finalize the nominations in the individual categories.
This year’s Semi-Final Round of Judging was held in the following five categories:
– TV Movie / Mini-Series (English)
– Drama Series (Asia/ Africa / Middle East)
– Kids: TV Movie / Mini-Series (English)
– Kids: Series (Latin America)
This semi-final session in Berlin has been organized by Academy members Regina Ziegler (Ziegler Film), Tanja Ziegler (Ziegler Film) and Michael Smeaton (FFP New Media). The jury of celebrities and experts from the field of television features Liane Jessen (HR), Anna Thalbach, Reinhold Elschot (ZDF), Annette Hess (Autorin), Claudia Nothelle (RBB), Florian Stetter, Willy Weitzel und Philipp Steffens (RTL) and others, who came together for the all-day closed meeting in order to view and evaluate the productions which have been put forward and produce a final list of nominations.
Already on the evening before the semi-finals 2015 jurors and organizers came together for a welcome dinner at the ‘Sarah Wiener’ restaurant in the Hamburger Bahnhof.
Among the prominent guests at the celebratory Cocktail Prolongé in the ‘China Club’ Berlin counted Rosa von Praunheim, Katharina Thalbach, Familie Ochsenknecht, Ulrich Deppendorf, Alexandra Neldel, Clemens Schick, Valerie Niehaus, Dominic Raacke and many others.
The Semi-Final Round of Judging was 2015 sponsored by the Mayor of Berlin, Michael Müller.