Back to overview

Semi-Final Round of Judging 2013

Pre-selection for the ‘International Emmy®’ in Berlin

On the evening of 18 June 2013 Berlin hosted the Semi-Final Round of Judging to finalize nominations for the International Emmy® Award, the most important prize in the international television industry. Guest of honor at the exclusive Soirée this year was the multiple award-winning actor Mario Adorf.
Each year these prestigious prizes are awarded by the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in a total of 20 categories. In the first part of the award procedure nominations are put forward by representatives of the TV industry throughout the world. The subsequent semi-final round of judging is divided between various countries, and in each case the jury consists of between 10 and 50 members who will finalize the nominations in the individual categories.
This year’s Semi-Final Round of Judging was held in the following five categories:
– Best Performance by an Actor (English Language)
– Kids: Non-Scripted Entertainment (English Language)
– Drama Series (Asia / Africa / Middle East)
– TV Movie / Mini-Series (Asia / Africa / Middle East)
– TV Movie / Mini-Series (Latin-America)
This semi-final session in Berlin has been organized by Academy members Regina Ziegler (Ziegler Film), Tanja Ziegler (Ziegler Film) and Michael Smeaton (FFP New Media). The jury of celebrities and experts from the field of television features Maria Furtwängler, Matthias Habich, Claudia Michelsen, Gesine Cukrowski, Jana Brandt (MDR), Barbara Thielen (RTL) and others, who came together for the all-day closed meeting in order to view and evaluate the productions which have been put forward and produce a final list of nominations.
The guests of honor in the evening was Mario Adorf, the legendary celebrity who is among the most famous contemporary actors on stage, in the cinema and on television. Among the numerous awards and nominations he has received during his career, in 2012 Mario Adorf was presented with the Golden Camera in acknowledgement of his life’s work. Ulrich Noethen, Samuel Finzi, Valerie Niehaus, Olli Dittrich, Tessa Mittelstaedt and other guests at the Soirée were celebratrating with him. 
The Semi-Final Round of Judging was 2013 also sponsored by the Mayor of Berlin, Klaus Wowereit, and the event was supported by the Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, ZDF, MDR, ARRI, Cine plus, Sixt, Mercedes, Berlin Partner, Romance TV, Global Screen and Villa im Paradies.
Press Contact FFP New Media:

Gitta Deutz, pr agentur deutz
Neusser Straße 93, D-50670 Köln
Fon: +49 30 289 330 14, Mob: +49 172 20 79 810

Photos of the judges

Photos of the Cocktail Prolongé

Bilder von © André Hercher